Reaching into the Arctic circle, the Northwest Territories offer some of the most unique educational experiences and environments in the English-speaking world.  In effect, beyond core curricula, the school system is anchored in the traditions of the northern First Nations and Inuit, promoting aboriginal language and culture in addition to mainline subjects.

General education facts

– Education in the Northwest Territories runs from Kindergarten (Year 0) to Grade 12.
– Individual municipalities and communities are responsible for operating schools within their jurisdictions through local school boards, with cultural communities occupying a special role in setting advanced curricula.
– The territorial education ministry, the Ministry of Education, Culture and Employment, is responsible for core territorial curriculum development and management, as well as teacher certification.
– All schools in the Northwest Territories must teach a core curriculum, however, many schools offer highly specific courses and opportunities beyond these core requirements, including cultural education and linguistic training.

Post-secondary education facts

– In Canada, there are basically four types of post-secondary educational institution: 1) Universities, which are empowered to grant all levels of post-secondary degree; 2) University Colleges, which are empowered to grant four-year and two year degrees, as well as technical degrees; 3) Colleges, which are empowered to grant two-year and vocational degrees; and 4) Private schools that offer specific religious, vocational, technical or language training.
– In Canada, post-secondary education is the responsibility of the provincial and territorial governments, and the provinces administer all funds provided by the Government of Canada for the express purpose of college and university administration.  In the Northwest Territories, the ministry responsible for managing higher education is the Ministry of Education, Culture and Employment.
– The federal government, however, still offers a variety of funding options to individuals and universities for research, student financial aid, and for various scholarships.  There are also additional programs and funding available for those looking to reside in the northern territories.

Opportunities for higher learning in the Northwest Territories

– The lone post-secondary institution in the Northwest Territories is Aurora College, with three main campuses (Yellowknife, Fort Smith and Inuvik), known mostly for excellent North-specific and technical training programs.